Monday, 4 September 2017

The solar system

The solar system is in space and is a group of planets that orbit the sun. There are nine planets in the solar system. Their names are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto.The sun is a star. If we didn't have the sun it would be freezing cold like winter. The sun is made out of gas and helium.

Earth has another name. It is called the Goldilocks planet because it is not too hot, not too cold - it is just right. Mars is known as the red planet. It is hot. Mars has red soil. Mars is smaller than earth.

The moon orbits the earth. The moon doesn't give us night. The earth is spinning and when it spins, it becomes night when the sun isn't facing us. The moon doesn't have as much gravity as earth. 

Venus and earth are like the same size. But there is a difference. Venus is very hot. It is the second closest planet to the sun. 

Neptune and Pluto are the farthest planets. It is far away from the sun. It is very cold in Neptune and Pluto. 

1 comment:

  1. Hi Shayna

    I really like your blog you added more details and you even learnd about planets,

    Thanks for sharing on your blog

    From Jordan.